Our office holiday potluck

December 6, 2005 at 3:51 pm (social issues)

As some of you know, I have a young child breastfeeding.  I’m trying to keep him away from peanut or nut allergen exposure in the milk.  Additionally, I don’t need to take those allergens home to my anaphylactic child, nor do I wish to experience any side-effects myself (I seem to have developed some sensitivities the past few years).

Well, prior to today’s office Christmas party, I sent around an email politely asking people to bring in labels from the recipes they were making.

I have to say, it was a pretty good success.  There were more than enough food items and I wasn’t left out at all.  No one blew up and disintegrated into a fit of rage over the massive inconvenience of accomodating my need.  (I know that might sound funny, but it has happened in the past in other groups, when I’ve been really nice about asking.)

Two big thumbs up to my office group here.  Way to go.

Now, there’s no way my sons could have been here.  There WERE nuts around.

My question to you all out there is this?  How do you deal with this sort of issue?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

1 Comment

  1. 50 and over life insurance said,

    50 and over life insurance…

    lemmas havens ascribing …

Leave a Reply

