Sinus problems and the Neti Pot

January 29, 2006 at 9:04 pm (Blog & Websites)

Well, Dr. Enright over at WebMD is writing about sinusitis, the neti pot, nasal sprays…I truly hate this time of year.  Has anyone out there ever tried the neti pot?  It looks disgusting, but if it works, then SUPER.  Tell me more.

More from Dr. Enright:

When I’ve got an exacerbation of my allergic rhinosinusitis, I use Sinus Rinse twice-a-day, followed by a nasal decongestant, then a nasal corticosteroid spray. Washing out the nasal passages with salt water is a treatment used successfully for hundreds of years.

If you like metaphysics and alternative medicine, you can dribble a cup of salt water into each nostril from a $20 ceramic Neti pot. If you are rich, you can put the salt water in a $120 nebulizer and spend ten minutes sitting while it produces a salt water mist. All pharmacies carry a $15 bottle of saline nasal spray with preservatives, but it only has 4 ounces of salt water, not even enough to rinse out one side of your nose once. I’ve tried all of these over the years, but have happily settled on a plastic squeeze bottle that holds a cup of warm water. This Sinus Rinse bottle costs less than ten dollars, lasts for a year or more, and comes with packets of salt, the size of fake sugar packets.

I simply tear open a salt packet and pour it into the bottle. I then fill the bottle from the warm shower or the bathroom sink and shake it. Sometimes I’ve filled it with cold water and nuked it for 30 seconds in the microwave. I then lean over the sink and push the smooth black tip of the bottle against one nostril, then gently squeeze the bottle, sending the salt water through one side of my nose and out of the other side, washing away the gunk. I then repeat the squeeze on the other side.

1 Comment

  1. drellencutler said,

    I have excellent results with sinustis. firstly, eliminate sugars, grains, yeast products,dairy and vinegar (anything moldy) and take protease enzyme ( see MicroMiracles, Discover the Healing Power of Enzymes by Dr. Ellen Cutler ) protease is a power antibacterial and antiinflammatory. he enhances the activities of our own immune defense. See drellencutler.wordpress.com for more information on my work with enzymes, allergies and detoxification called BioSET.

Leave a Reply

