Aye Eye

March 26, 2006 at 6:44 pm (social issues)


 

Aye Eye

Originally uploaded by Saellys.

I just loved this photo I found on flickr listed under "St. Louis Zoo."

We don't have hippos in our zoo here in Louisville, darn it! Well, we do have a few pygmy hippos, but they're so tiny! (Really!)

I've been corresponding with a St. Louis allergy mom, Laura Faulkingham. Here's what she had to say about allergies and about the Allergy News blog:

Food issues in our life are both a blessing and a curse. I actually
like some aspects of what has been created in our life due to the
allergies: more awareness of what we eat, more homecooked stuff,
less junk food (wish I could say "no junk"), more appreciation for life
in
general. Of course, there is the curse side of it: the fear, the
anxiety, the strange looks and unfeeling comments of others as we
tryto keep our kids safe in the world. But I feel more "opened up"
than
"closed off," if that makes any sense!

I'm enjoying your blog. Keep up the great work!

Laura Faulkingham
St. Louis, MO

 

Laura let me know that we need to bring our own lunches to Grant's Farm and to the St. Louis Zoo, as neither attraction is very food allergy savvy.

Thanks for the tips, Laura! 

1 Comment

  1. hair everywhere said,

    I’ve just been letting everything pass me by lately. I haven’t gotten anything done today. Pfft.

Leave a Reply

