Aquafresh update via Laura Duke

August 3, 2006 at 4:27 pm (Allergy News!, recalls, social issues)


I called GlaxoSmithKline this morning, Thursday 08/03/2006 and advised them of my concerns regarding the allegation of Aquafresh Kids Toothpaste being contaminated with some form of peanut or nut oil? I was told that GlaxoSmithKline has received numerous phone calls regarding this issue and I was told that they tested all of the Aquafresh Toothpaste products and everything came out fine and did not show any trace amounts or contamination from peanuts. However, the lady I spoke with couldn’t give me a positive answer that the Aquafresh Kids Toothpaste wasn’t contaminated with some form of nuts! My son and I both are allergic to peanuts and nuts! My advice to anyone who has a peanut or nut allergy is not to use any product put out by GlaxoSmithKline. These companies aren’t regulated to put an allergy warning on their products due to these products are not food. As always, READ EVERYTHING… shampoo bottles, soap packages, etc. I have contacted my state Senator and House of Representatives Member in Tennessee to see what they can do to make all companies put a warning label on all products that might contain any and all known allergies. May I suggest you contact yours as well.

1 Comment

  1. Krista said,

    Hi. Just thought I would drop a note on this. I saw a news program (can’t remember what station) that was talking about the Aquafresh kids toothpaste. The woman stated that Aquafresh told her that peanut oil is used as part of the flavoring of the toothpaste. The reason why it is not listed on the package is because toothpaste is a hygiene product and therefore the FDA does not require that it be listed. Only food products are required by the FDA to list any allergens. For any hygiene product, I would call the manufacturer to make sure if there is an allergen in the product. Better to be on the safe side.

Leave a Reply

